It was quite hard to accept the fact that most of my friends weren’t going to carry on onto sixth form, in fact only one of my friends form my group was going to the same sixth form as me! Now, I wouldn’t I didn’t have any friends outside my group but being the shy and not-so-bold person I am, I knew I would find it harder to feel comfortable and join another group or at least become very close friends with other people in my year. Thankfully, it seemed that making friends with new students from other schools and making new friends was easier than I thought and I’m blessed to have the friends that I’ve made today.

Trying to stay in constant communication with my old friends has really been hard though the year due to sixth form keeping you extra busy and all the things we had accomplished in your own lives and sometimes I think it’s best to just move on and just let our friendship fade away. Don’t get me wrong, we’ve meet up various times throughout the year however I haven’t really been in contact with the person who was my CLOSEST friend in primary and secondary school since October 2015. Her and I have had our share of arguments but at the end of the day she never failed to make me laugh or put a smile on my face.

It wasn’t until a couple of weeks ago I sucked up the courage so send her a message saying ‘Hey’ and asked her and another one of my friends if they wanted to meet up and catch up on all the things we’ve done. She said she had been busy as well in college and having a boyfriend etc. But it was cool. We were talking to each other, which was all that mattered. It was so nice catching up online and making a date available for us to meet in person. I said I would check out movies on at the cinema for a particular date this week and get back to them soon but it wasn’t until this afternoon I replied to her back after looking at film times.

However, the thing I’ve realised is that… I have moved on. It doesn’t feel like were in secondary school again or like we’re going to meet up for the first, it just feels like…. I don’t know how to explain it but have you ever had that feeling that you need someone in your life to make you happy or you need things to feel like how they were before but at the end of the day you realise you’ve got everyone and everything you need in right now. That’s how I feel right now.

Hmm… I still can’t wait to meet up with them and find out what’s new and share the things I’ve done as well 😉

Comment if you’ve ever felt the same thing or been in a similar situation!

Leave a Reply

