This weeks songs are:

1) Akon – Troublemaker

Troublemaker features Sweet Rush and this is the fourth single in his debut album, Freedom (2008). In this song, Akon is “Posted up” in the club and he’s chilling with the ladies, even though he says he’ll treat his girl like a queen, they know that he is nothing but trouble. I first heard this song when I was in primary school, maybe I was in year 5/6 but it was the only song that I had on iTunes for a while! I used to listen to this song on repeat after school on the computer, so whenever I hear this song it takes me back to my childhood where my passion for music began. I don’t think that this is a groundbreaking song with outstanding lyrics, but check out this song below:

Akon – Troublemaker

2) Mary J. Blige – Real Love

Real Love was released in 1992 by R&B singer, Mary J. Blige. This is the second single from her debut studio album, What’s The 411? (1992). Real Love peaked at no.7 on the US Billboards Hot 100 in 1992 but reached no. 1 on the US Billboard Hot R&B/Hip-Hop Singles & Tracks in 1992. Toby Lightman did a cover of this song in 2004 and it appeared on her debut studio album, Little Things (2004). I really like the beat in this song and how personal this song is to Mary because she said to her producer:  ‘I just want a real love in my life for once.’ Check out this great song below:

Mary J. Blige – Real Love

3) Tweet – Boogie 2nite

Boogie 2nite is a dance-pop song by Tweet, released in December 2002. This song appeared on her debut album, Southern Hummingbird (2002). I originally heard this song through the cover by the British dance group, Booty Luv which peaked at no. 1 on the UKs dance chart in 2006. Booty Luv’s version of this song is more suited for a party/club setting in my opinion, but I like both versions. Tweet’s original version of this song in my opinion focuses more on the vocals and I love the harmonisation of her vocals in this song, It’s soothing. Check out this nice song below:

Tweet – Boogie 2nite

Please tell me what you think about this weeks song choices and suggest any songs you’d like me to add to Music Monday next week!

Omone 😀

 

Leave a Reply

